Bali Bombing Monument

I’m trying to post what I did during last year November-December holiday. Here is my first post on it.
——

We all know what happened in Bali on 12 October 2002. I’m not trying to open up the old wounds for some of us. Two years after the bombing, then Badung regent Anak Agung Ngurah Oka Ratmadi opened the Bali Bombing Monument. I’ve been to the locations of both the first Bali bombing and the second Bali bombing but there is no monument for the second Bali bombing and in fact, it’s now a Coffe Bean and Tea Leaf shop.

Anyway, the Bali bombing was a sad day for Bali. 202 dead, 88 were Australians. Yes, the masterminds had been executed in Bukit Nurbaya, Nusakambangan Island, Cilacap, Central Java. But the wounds of the victims, the survivors may never be healed forever. I watched on Indonesia’s tvOne news show, Kabar Petang, last year. A very, very tragic incident happened to one of the survivor. She has permanent flaws in her body and because of that, she was not allowed to enter a restaurant and was chased away by the manager like a dog.

Moving on, here are a few photos that I took. I went to the monument with my Singapore’s hostel mate who comes from Jakarta.

Photograph1014
A first glimpse to the monument

Photograph1015
A water fountain located in front

Photograph1016
The names of the victims were carved on the monument, but the language usage is really inconsistent. The Indonesian word for Canada should be Kanada and not Canada and Ecuador should be Ekuador, not Equador.

Photograph1017
This is how the Legian Street looks like from the monument. For those who have never been to Bali before, Legian Street is a one-way road and a one-way road is common in tourist areas such as Kuta, Legian, Seminyak, Sanur (not really, I know this place very well because it’s just a 5-minute drive from my house), Ubud (I’m not really sure but the road to Ubud will make you feel sick for sure). A Billabong shop is at the opposite but Rip Curl’s store near Carrefour is even bigger.

Photograph1018
Every day, people comes to take photos and/or to pray for the souls of the departed who were their loved ones, family members, friends. A commemoration is usually held at Australian Consulate in Bali every 12 October. The office is in Renon area, my house is located in Renon area anyway.

Photograph1019
It reads: Humanitarian Tragedy Monument
12 October 2002 Bomb Explosion at Legian Street, Kuta, Bali
Inaugurated:
On 12 October 2004
By:
Badung Regent
A.A Ngr. Oka Ratmadi
S.H. means a graduate from law faculty similar to MBa or PhD status elsewhere.

Photograph1020
I know how it feels. I went to this spot also in 2002 and early 2003 when it was still debris. Haagen-Dasz truck was one of the victim. I condemn all the people behind this.

Photograph1021
May the departed rest in peace and the “dalangs” rest in hell

Photograph1022
Photo taken from a Guardian shop at the opposite side from the monument, accompanying my hostel mate buying some toiletries.

All these photos were taken on the eve of Christmas. My mother called me to go home earlier so that I could go to the Christmas Night Mass but I was late. All thanks to the heavy traffic at Kuta Road that evening.

By the way, I’m going back to Bali soon. I will still be blogging from Bali and even from Changi Airport. More details in the upcoming posts.

Leave a Reply

