GCE ‘O’ Level English Oral

Today is my GCE ‘O’ Level English Oral. Actually, my normal school lesson on Tuesdays ends at 1425 but students having the exam are dismissed at 1310 to have their lunch and some preparation. Thirty minutes before the exam begins, students are to be seated outside assigned rooms used for the exam.

There were two rooms used, Geography room and History room. Students are seated according to their exam number.

English Oral consists of three components; Reading, Picture Description and Conversation.

Students are given 10 minutes to read the passage and analyse the picture outside the room with one persnn (schonl staff) marking attendance.

The passage was about a doctor and his patient. The picture was about a health fair. The conversation, which was not given the cue, was about role mode and health.

Same to Mother Tongue Oral, every day the topic changes. Why? To prevent cheating, as simple as that.

Regarding my commitment to copyright issue, I will delete this post if I am going against the copyright laws.

——

When I practised my reading before my turn came, some of the students commented that I read like a newsreader. To some extent, yes. This weekend I will show you what kind of video I have been watching on YouTube lately.

Among them are ABC News, Seven News, Nine News and Ten News.

That’s all for now, more details coming this weekend. Have a pleasant day/ night.

2 thoughts on “GCE ‘O’ Level English Oral

  1. Hello.
    I’m from Mauritius and i will be taking my Oral examination for English just like you recently did.
    It would be nice if you could tell me what picture did you get for the Oral exams and what questions you were asked during the conversation part.
    Please tell me.
    Thanks in advance, i know you are a true friend
    Send me an e-mail on: jason_galleegadoo@yahoo.com

  2. Hi to you too!
    Well, here every different day the exam board changed the picture and the conversation topics. Both will be related directly or indirectly.

    All the best to you. Oral is different from job interview.

Leave a Reply

