Blogging from Brisbane

Hello everyone, I am back after another one month break. This time blogging from Australia’s third largest city, Brisbane. This morning, I arrived at Brisbane International Airport at 0815 AEST. The weather here is prety similar to my hometown, Denpasar. My flight was DJ4198 from Ngurah Rai Airport, unfortunately I can’t give you full trip report as I didn’t take any photograph at all.

My impression of Brisbane Airport: the size is about twice of Juanda Airport in Surabaya. Photography is allowed except in areas such as immigration clearance, quarantine declaration. The staff at Brisbane Airport are the best (Changi Airport, I am warning you!) that I have ever encountered.

Anyway, this afternoon I went downtown. Brisbane and my previous study destination are quite similar in certain ways. Orchard Road vs Queen Street, National Library vs Queensland State Library (both buildings are quite decent in their architecture), National Museum of Singapore vs Queensland Museum and Singapore Flyer vs The Wheel of Brisbane. Tomorrow, I will be going to Fortitude Valley to see the Chinese New Year celebration in the southern hemisphere as well as going to Optus shop (I can’t activate my SIM card after buying it from 7-Eleven).

I notice that there are many Indians working at 7-Eleven, that’s what I notice during my journey along Queen Street, Adelaide Street and Albert Street. Well, I am not trying to be racist here. Since Queensland’s time is 2 hours ahead of my hometown and my previous study destination so I guess it’s time to rest. Long journey in southeast Queensland awaits me!

P2130040
Pacific Blue’s Boeing 737-800 cabin at night bound for Brisbane

P2130043
The suburb where I currently stay, Holland Park

P2130044
St Stephen’s Cathedral (the seat of Catholicism in Brisbane) has a notice board outside their main entrance at Ann Street

P2130045
Southbank Busway, TransLink is like a combination of Singapore’s super-efficient SBS Transit and Jakarta’s Transjakarta. Its negative side, the fare which is too expensive.

P2130046
Brisbane’s skyscrapers

P2130047

P2130048

P2130049

P2130050
Queensland State Library

P2130051
Aboard TransLink bus

If you arrived in Brisbane by plane from northern cities (for example Bali, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur etc) after the sun rises, you would be brought for a city tour with that plane. You will be able to see Queensland outback, towns like Ipswich, Mt Coot-tha (where Brisbane’s TV transmission towers are located from ABC, SBS, Seven, Nine and Ten), the Story Bridge, Brisbane’s skyscrapers (the city looks small from the plane as all the skyscrapers are concentrated in one place) before touching down at Brisbane’s airport.

That’s all from me for now. I’ll be bring you more Queensland experiences soon.

Leave a Reply

