Darwin, Northern Territory (part 2)

After that ‘heart attack’ at Coles, I went to Subway to have lunch. I don’t want to talk about price again. Then, I took a stroll at Smith Street Mall, Darwin’s answer to Brisbane’s Queen Street Mall or Adelaide’s Rundle Mall.
P7020945

P7020946
Believe me, I have never seen a shopping area so quiet like this. No Myer, no David Jones. Target department store is located at Casuarina shopping centre if I’m not mistaken.

Across Smith Street Mall is Darwin’s Visitor Information Centre.
P7020947

I didn’t go in since I had not much time in Darwin (only 4 hours).

P7020948
So far, this is the tallest building in Darwin’s CBD that I had seen. I believe this building was also used for the opener of Darwin’s National Nine News on Channel Nine Darwin (NTD-9) between 2006-2009. Channel Nine is the only television network that provides local news bulletin for Darwin, apart from ‘Aunty’ ABC.

P7020949
This is the Northern Territory Parliament House located near Darwin’s Esplanade. The territory library (NT Library, equivalent to SLQ) is oddly located inside the building. You are welcome to go inside after security screening.

P7020950
Still in the same compund, I believe this is the Supreme Court.

P7020951
This is Darwin’s Esplanade. Finally after more than five months, I saw sea again.

That’s my post for now. I’ll be back on Monday because tomorrow I’m going to UQ Open House at St Lucia campus for the whole day. Enjoy your weekend.

Copyright: myself 2010
No advertisements intended.

Leave a Reply

